7. Sartre à Barthes mais plus ça change

More of the same, but different, with cover art by James Lowe in 1975-84.

Under Mike Dempsey's art direction the covers of the Fontana Modern Masters switched to a white background with cover art by James Lowe, a graduate of the Royal Academy Schools in London, who had been recommended to Dempsey by Fontana's non-fiction editor Bob Woodings. Lowe's geometric paintings and shaped canvases had been exhibited in Young Contemporaries at the Tate Gallery in 1967 and several exhibitions at the Redfern Gallery on Cork Street in 1967-70.

Lowe created three sets of cover art based on triangles, squares and finally circles under a new art director, Patrick Mortimer, following Dempsey's departure in 1979. The covers gave the books a fresh new look, like a gallery of shaped canvases on white walls.

Sartre by Arthur C. Danto, 1977 Pound by Donald Davie, 1975 Eliot by Stephen Spender, 1975 Marx by David McLellan, 1975
Schoenberg by Charles Rosen, 1976 Saussure by Jonathan Culler, 1976 Artaud by Martin Esslin, 1976 Keynes by D. E. Moggridge, 1976
Fontana Modern Masters in 1975-76, with cover art by James Lowe based on triangles.

Gramsci by James Joll, 1977 Engels by David McLellan, 1977 Heidegger by George Steiner, 1978
Trotsky by Irving Howe, 1978 Nietzsche by J. P. Stern, 1978 Durkheim by Anthony Giddens, 1978
Pavlov by Jeffrey A. Gray, 1979 Klein by Hanna Segal, 1979 Piaget by Margaret A. Boden, 1979
Fontana Modern Masters in 1977-79, with cover art by James Lowe based on squares.

Evans-Pritchard by Mary Douglas, 1980 Darwin by Wilma George, 1982 Barthes by Jonathan Culler, 1983 Adorno by Martin Jay, 1984
Fontana Modern Masters in 1980-84, with cover art by James Lowe based on circles.
Second and third editions of the Fontana Modern Masters in 1985-95 dispensed with cover art and added six new titles, Foucault, Derrida, Arendt, Winnicott, Lacan and Berlin. The books were now in the larger 'B' format and featured a portrait of the Master as a line drawing, or later a tinted photograph. The suspicion that Fontana's art department had closed was reinforced by a medley of serif and sans-serif typography, italics, calligraphy, block capitals and lowercase lettering.
Foucault by J G Merquior     Derrida by Christopher Norris     Arendt by David Watson

Winnicott by Adam Phillips     Lacan by Malcolm Bowie     Berlin by John Grey
Fontana Modern Masters in 1985-95.